30 Day Challenge: Day 26 – The Writing Struggle is Real

 

 

Ok, so in all honesty, this writing challenge is a lot harder than I thought it would be. When I started it, I was unemployed and had a whole load of free time, and I needed something to do other than applying for jobs, jobs and more jobs. I thought, what better way to get back into writing on a regular basis than a challenge? I wrote every day at uni – it’ll be no big deal…

So, so wrong. A few days into the challenge I got a full time job in which I write about very expensive furniture. Don’t get me wrong, I’m absolutely loving the job – but to then come home and try to find some kind of inspiration to write something else? That’s the struggle.

I will admit, I have been relying on stories and scripts that I wrote way back when much more than I had planned on, but editing them takes time. And time is not really something I have most nights, you know, if I want to cook and eat something relatively healthy, not smell bad and get a decent amount of sleep…

Anyway, the point of this whole blog post is that I’ve been going through a lot of my old work, and oh my God, so shocking. Maybe in a few years time I’ll look back at this whole blog and think what the hell was I on? Who knows. Anyway, I’d like to treat you to a few examples of my ridiculously awful creations.

Here are the synopses of some stand out appalling stories/scripts/poems I actually wrote:

Sociopath mind reader goes back to her hometown seeking revenge on the one person who shouldn’t have outcast her – her best friend, who, plot twist, is also a mind reader.

A Thelma and Louise type friendship, where the two women are running away because they were tricked into framing their husbands for murder, and now, said husbands, are pissed. Road trip comedy drama, with a pet iguana.

17 years ago, woman’s husband sleeps with her sister, fathering a child – 17 years later, the sister’s husband finds out and lets everyone know about it while they are stuck in a house because of a major storm. There’s a gun, that is not so subtly referenced to in the first scene…

Lying in the ruins of a plane crash, a woman realises the sky is green and that she is, in fact, on another planet. The plot thickens when strange alien like creatures with no mouths or arm pits threaten to eat her. How you ask? I don’t have a fucking clue.

The entirety of my poetry portfolio. What a joke.

Leave a Reply

